Board & Committees

The diagram below indicates how the Board, Committees and Sub-Committees of the Faculty link together.

Linkage of committees

Committees, Advisory Groups & Sub-Committees

The Professional Affairs & Safety Committee (PAS) is one of the three standing committees of the Faculty.   It is responsible for ICM matters relating to guideline endorsement, good practice documentation, commissioning matters, revalidation and policies relating to patient safety, competencies, clinical audit and doctors in difficulty. 

  • Dr Peter MacNaughton (Chair)
  • Dr Chris Bassford
  • Dr Irfan Chaudry
  • Dr Jeremy Cordingley
  • Dr Peyton Davis
  • Dr Dan Harvey
  • Dr Angelia Lim (Doctor in training)
  • Dr Gary Mills
  • Dr Peter Shirley
  • Dr Mike Spivey
  • Dr Jamie Yarwood
  • Dr Mike Carrareto (Co-optee: Critical Care Networks)
  • Dr Debbi Scotting (Co-optee: NHS Improvement)
  • Dr Chris Danbury (Corresponding: Legal & Ethical Policy Unit)

The Training, Assessment and Quality Committee (TAQ) is one of the three standing committees of the Faculty.   It is responsible for ICM matters relating to the curriculum, assessment tools, the logbook, e-learning, examinations, specialty area training and quality assurance.

  • Dr Chris Thorpe (Chair)
  • Dr Sarah Clarke (Deputy Chair, Quality Lead and CESR Curriculum Lead)
  • Dr Victoria-Anne Robson (Chair of the Court of Examiners)
  • Dr Matt Thomas (PHEM Representative for ICM)
  • Dr Andy Gratrix (FICM ePorfolio Lead)
  • Dr Liza Keating (PICM Representative for ICM)
  • Dr Monika Beatty (Lead RA for Scotland)
  • Dr Guy Parsons (FICM Trainee Representative)
  • Dr Mike Bannon (Co-optee: Lead Dean)
  • Dr Matthew Williams (Lead RA in ICM and Curriculum Lead)
  • Dr Pete Hersey (Chair of the Education Sub-Committee)
  • Dr Andrew Sharman (Deputy Lead RA in ICM)

The Careers, Recruitment and Workforce Committee (CRW) is one of the three standing committees of the Faculty. It is responsible for ICM matters relating to the selection and recruitment, careers (including the FICM Career Strategy) and workforce (including the census, regional enagement meetings and workforce planning).

  • Dr Jack Parry-Jones (Chair)
  • Dr Jonathan Goodall (Careers Lead)
  • Dr Richard Porter (Workforce Lead)
  • Dr Zoe Brummell
  • Dr Shashi Chandrashekaraiah
  • Dr Rory MacKenzie (Representative for the Careers & Workforce Section: Scotland)
  • Dr Andrew Martin
  • Dr Ken McGrattan
  • Dr Tim Meekings
  • Dr Guy Parsons (FICM Trainee Representative)
  • Dr Liz Thomas (WICM Chair)
  • Dr Ascanio Tridente
  • Dr Michael Bannon (Co-optee: Lead Dean)
  • Dr Monika Beatty (Representative for the Recruitment Section: Scotland)
  • Dr Richard Butterworth (Corresponding Member: Representative for the Recruitment Section: JRCPTB)
  • Dr Ash Basu (Corresponding Member: Representative for the Recruitment Section: RCEM)
  • Dr Anne Whaley (Corresponding Member: Representative for the Recruitment Section: RCoA)

The ACCP Sub-Committee (ACCPSC) reports to the FICMCRW and is responsible for all matters relating to Advanced Critical Care Practitioners, including the curriculum, the conference and CPD arrangements.

  • Ms Carole Boulanger (Co-Chair)
  • Dr Simon Gardner (Co-Chair)
  • Mr Bill Allen
  • Dr Richard Browne
  • Mr Rick Faulkner
  • Ms Natalie Gardner
  • Ms Kate Mayes
  • Dr Gregor McNeil
  • Mr Steve Simpson
  • Ms Helen Singh

The Pharmacy Sub-Committee (FICMPSC) reports to the FICMCRW and is responsible for all matters relating to Critical Care Pharmacists, including the membership engagement, education and training and workforce.

  • Mr Greg Barton (Chair)
  • Dr Richard Bourne (Deputy-Chair)
  • Ms Emma Boxall
  • Dr Daniele Bryden
  • Dr Dereck Gondongwe
  • Ms Lorraine Moore
  • Ms Emma Taylor

The Smaller and Specialist Units Advisory Group (SSUAG) is a new advisory group to the Board and is responsible for ensuring the considerations of smaller and specialist units are central to Faculty business across training, standards and workforce.

  • Dr Chris Thorpe (Chair / Wales)
  • Dr Jonathan Aldrigde (Scotland)
  • Dr Catriona Barr (Shetlands)
  • Dr Eleanor Checkley
  • Dr Simon Gardner (ACTACC)
  • Dr Ritoo Kapoor
  • Dr Roger Lightfoot (NACCSGBI)
  • Dr Ronan O’Hare (Northern Ireland)
  • Dr Jon Sturman (Northern England)

The Legal & Ethical Policy Unit (LEPU) reports to the Professional Affairs & Safety Committee.  It provides the specialty with advice and proactive guidance on legal and ethical matters.

  • Dr Chris Danbury (Chair)
  • Dr Monika Beatty (Clinician)
  • Dr Danny Bryden (Clinician)
  • Dr Sonya Daniel (Clinician)
  • Mr Alex Ruck Keene (Barrister)
  • Dr Ian Thomas (Clinician)
  • Mr Ben Troke (Solicitor)

The FICM ePortfolio Sub-Committee looks after the NES FICM e-Portfolio platform for trainees.  It reports to TAQ.

  • Dr Andy Gratrix (ePortfolio Lead)
  • Dr Pete Hersey (ePortfolio Deputy Lead)

The FFICM Examination Sub-Committee (FESC) looks after the FFICM examination and reports to TAQ.

  • Dr Victoria-Anne Robson (Chair)
  • Dr Jerome Cockings (Deputy Chair/Audit Lead)
  • Dr Jeremy Bewley (MCQ Chair)
  • Dr Carol Macmillan (Deputy MCQ Chair)
  • Dr Jeremy Cordingly (OSCE Chair)
  • Dr Anthony Bastin (Deputy OSCE Chair)
  • Dr Barbara Philips (SOE Chair)
  • Dr Stephanie Strachan (Deputy SOE Chair)

The FICM Education Sub-Committee is respsonsible for free educational content, events and our work with e-learning for healthcare. They report to TAQ

  • Dr Pete Hersey (Chair)
  • Dr Sarah Marsh (Deputy Chair)
  • Dr Chris Allen (Blog)
  • Dr Gilly Fleming (Blog)
  • Dr Kyle Gibson (Case of the Month)
  • Dr Martin Huntley (Podcasts)
  • Dr Ram Matsa (Case of the Month)
  • Dr David Melia (Events)
  • Ms Sonya Stone (ACCP Co-optee and e-Learning)

WICM are a subcommittee of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine, working with the Careers, Recruitment and Workforce Committee (FICMCRW). WICM aims to specifically address why fewer women than men pursue a career in ICM. Addressing gender imbalance is necessary to secure diversity of our critical care teams.

  • Dr Liz Thomas (Chair)
  • Dr Sarah Marsh (Deputy Chair)
  • Dr Stephenie Cattlin 
  • Dr Nish Desai
  • Dr Ingi Elsayed
  • Dr Kate Flavin
  • Dr Rosin Haslett
  • Dr Mishti Oberoi (Trainee Rep)
  • Dr Hannah Potter (Trainee Rep)
  • Dr Manni Waraich
  • Dr Christine Watson

Want to know more about the Faculty Board?
Meet the current members.